about me
I was born in Cambridge, Ontario, Canada, the oldest of 5 children. Raised in a Christian home, I am proud to be the product of Christian education. Not only for the Christian instruction and reinforcement these school systems gave me, but as a private education system, the government tended to impose stricter standards on the schools, resulting in first-rate academic experiences.

I went to Cambridge Christian School for grades 1 through 8, and Woodland Christian High School for 9 through 12, with a brief stint at Southwood Secondary School, a local public high school, for "grade 13".

Following high school, I became a graduate of the University of Guelph, where I received a specialized honours degree from the Computing and Information Science department.

It was at Guelph that I met Michelle, and we got married in 1996, and after 20 years, we're still quite content with our DINK status and 4 cats (we're pretty sure the cutoff line for "crazy cat people" is 5): Widget, Smudge, Glitch and iVee.

In 1999, we moved down to Hamilton, New Jersey as I got a job in the Computer Science Department at Princeton University. There for a little more than 13 years, we lived in a couple of different places before taking the home-ownership plunge.

2012 turned out be a momentous year, as we became US permanant residents and I moved to Pittsburgh to accept a position at Carnegie Mellon University in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department, and the remainder of the year should see Michelle leaving her job and joining me here.

I enjoy reading, and we have amassed a modest library over the years that I pretend to keep orderly.